Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!


November 6, 2018

Youthful Pakistan race to Twenty20 domination


November 6, 2018


DUBAI: Brash young players, peak fitness and a winning mentality “in their DNA”, Pakistan are the current kings of international Twenty20 cricket.

The last two Sundays have seen Pakistan race to series whitewashes in the game’s shortest format against Australia and New Zealand.They also have registered 11 consecutive series wins — a world record.

The rapid-fire cricket of T20 mirrors the helter-skelter nature of life in the country of 220 million.Former captain-turned-commentator Ramiz Raja believes Pakistan’s Twenty20 flair comes naturally.

“It’s partly our DNA,” said Raja. “But our successes have a lot to do with skills and fitness. Pakistan is a damn good team in this format, bowling out the opposition at will.”

With their powerful and penetrative bowling unit, Pakistan have dismissed rival teams the most times — 31 in all — while, in the last two years, they have defended a total of under 150 on 40 occasions out of 44, with three failures and one tie.

Sunday’s win against New Zealand in Dubai was their ninth match victory in a row — their longest winning streak.“Pakistan take this format very seriously and play with regular players most of the time,” said Raja.

The greatest of all the surprises is Pakistan’s fielding — not a strong point in the past. Their fielders have effected 25 run-outs in the last 28 matches.Following their first-round exit from the 2016 World Twenty20, Pakistan have a new captain in Sarfraz Ahmed while the coaching reins were handed to South Africa’s Mickey Arthur, a former Australia coach.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq, one of Pakistan’s greatest batsmen, had no reservations over selecting youngsters.It completely changed the scenario as since September 2016, Pakistan have won 29 of 33 Twenty20 internationals with only four defeats.

The current year has been phenomenal for Sarfraz and his young side, winning 17 of their 19 matches with two losses.

So what has changed?

Analysts say it is linked to the youthful nature of the country.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan figures, 42.4 million out of the nearly 97 million registered voters in this year’s poll, which saw former cricket captain Imran Khan become prime minister, were between the ages of 18 and 35.

“The prime reason for the success in Twenty20 is the power of youth,” said ex-captain and coach Waqar Younis.“Young players are hungry for success, they do the hard work and want to achieve and that has changed the whole picture.”

Pakistan’s latest pace sensation, Shaheen Shah Afridi, is only 18. He became the youngest bowler to take three wickets in a Twenty20 International against New Zealand in Dubai on Friday.

World number one Twenty20 batsman Babar Azam became the quickest to 1,000 runs in the shortest format in just 26 innings, one better than Indian maestro Virat Kohli’s record of 27.

Azam is only 24 and so are Hasan Ali and Faheem Ashraf, while leg-spinnner Shadab Khan is just 20.“The key difference is that we are a very young team and our fielding stands out and that has made us a good team,” said Sarfraz.

Pakistan won toss


Fakhar Zaman c Chapman b Ferguson 11

Babar Azam c Southee b de Grandhomme 79

Mohammad Hafeez not out 53

Shoaib Malik c Ferguson b de Grandhomme 19

Asif Ali not out 2

Extras (lb 1, w 1) 2

Total (3 wickets, 20 overs) 166

Did not bat: *†Sarfraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Waqas Maqsood, Usman Khan Shinwari

Fall: 1-29, 2-123, 3-154

Bowling: Rance 4-0-22-0; Southee 4-0-30-0; Ferguson 4-0-29-1; Grandhomme 4-0-41-2 (1 w); Sodhi 2-0-22-0; Munro 2-0-21-0

New Zealand

G Phillips b Shadab 26

C Munro b Faheem 2

C de Grandhomme run out 6

*K Williamson c Babar b Shadab 60

M Chapman st Sarfraz b Imad 2

R Taylor c Sarfraz b Shadab 7

†T Seifert b Imad 0

T Southee run out 0

I Sodhi not out 11

L Ferguson c Sarfraz b Waqas 1

S Rance b Waqas 1

Extras (lb 2, w 1) 3

Total (all out, 16.5 overs) 119

Fall: 1-4, 2-13, 3-96, 4-97, 5-103, 6-103, 7-104, 8-107, 9-113, 10-119

Bowling: Hafeez 2-0-8-0; Faheem 2-0-6-1; Imad 4-0-28-2 (1 w); Shinwari 3-0-24-0; Waqas 1.5-0-21-2; Shadab 4-0-30-3

Result: Pakistan won by 47 runs

Man of the Match: Babar Azam (Pakistan)

Man of the Series: Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)

Umpires: Rashid Riaz and Asif Yaqoob (Pakistan). Tv umpire: Shozab Raza (Pakistan). Match referee: Javagal Sriniath (India)